3rd Annual FLARE Meeting

FLARE Participant List and Abstract Links

  FLARE meeting page   Next page
Name Details Abstract Title Track Session Presentation
Christian Abizaid  University of Toronto Canada christian.abizaid@utoronto.ca      
Safia Aggarwal  FAO Italy
safia.aggarwal@fao.org
Using international Voluntary Guidelines to strengthen governance of forest tenure C 14

Arun Agrawal
Steering Committee

University of Michigan USA arunagra@umich.edu    
Ronju Ahammad  Charles Darwin University Australia ronju.ahammad@cdu.edu.au Understanding interactions of forest cover changes and rural livelihoods in a degraded landscape of Bangladesh F 27
Festus Amadu  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign USA
amadu2@illinois.edu
Agroforestry adoption: A pathway to food and livelihood security in the context of climate smart agriculture in southern Malawi B 6  
Krister Andersson
Coordination Committee
University of Colorado, Boulder USA krister.andersson@colorado.edu Women Leaders Achieve More Equal Benefits for Forest Users in Simulated PES Programs C 10  
Linda Andersson  Vi-skogen Sweden linda.andersson@viskogen.se Agroforestry Network – evidence based research meeting practitioners for policy dialogue Poster
Illias Animon  FAO Italy
illias.animon@fao.org
Harnessing opportunities in the context of SDGs to capitalize cultural services from landscapes for supporting rural livelihoods G 30
Miron Arljung  SIANI/SEI Sweden mironarljung@gmail.com    
Frida Arounsavath  Swedwatch Sweden frida@swedwatch.org Transnational corporations and indigenous rights to forests and land - case studies from Borneo and Bangladesh D 16
Will Ashley-Cantello  WWF United Kingdom washleycantello@wwf.org.uk    
Rob Bailis  Stockholm Environment Institute - US Center USA
rob.bailis@sei-us.org
Forest Energy and Sustainability in the Global South E 23  
Sara Balestri  Catholic University of Sacred Heart Italy sara.balestri@unicatt.it This land is my land! Large-Scale Land Acquisitions and conflict events in Sub-Saharan Africa  C 13  
Clare Barnes  LSE/ University of Edinburgh United Kingdom
clare.a.barnes@gmail.com
Achieving the SDGs through scaling-out community forestry interventions? Analysing the role of civil society organisations E 20  
John Baynes  University of the Sunshine Coast Australia
jbaynes@usc.edu.au
Applying Ethics to Forest and Landscape Restoration E 21  
Mucahid Bayrak  Utrecht University Netherlands m.m.bayrak@uu.nl Rethinking socio-ecological systems and external development interventions: REDD+ and local communities in Vietnam G 29  
Charlotte Benneker  DANIDA / ABT Bolivia charlotte.benneker@gmail.com Between regulators and the regulated; negotiating forest law implementation in Bolivia. G 31  
Aoife Bennett  CIFOR and Oxford University United Kingdom
aoife.bennett@gmail.com
New Oil Palm Company-Community Partnerships in the Peruvian Amazon: deforestation consequences of the privatization of rural development A 5  
Allen  Blackman
Steering Committee
InterAmerican Development Bank USA allenb@iadb.org  Does titling indigenous communities conserve forests? Evidence from Bolivia  C 14  
Karin Blomqvist
Resource Team
Stockholm University Sweden klerby@hotmail.com    
Maria Brockhaus  University of Helsinki Finland maria.brockhaus@helsinki.fi Assessing policy impact and change: a reflection on the benefits and limitations of qualitative comparative analysis (QCA) for the case of REDD+  F 24  
Stephen Brooks  USAID USA
sbrooks@usaid.gov
Governance of Mangrove Forests in Vietnam’s Red River Delta: Pilot to Implement Tenure-Responsive Coastal Spatial Planning C 14  
Dan Brown  University of Michigan USA danbrown@umich.edu    
Lena  Bruce
Guest Presenter
Sveaskog Sweden     
Federico Cammelli  Norwegian University of Life Sciences Norway
federico.cammelli@nmbu.no
Rainforests on fire: Amazonian farmers’ response to fire policies and climate change G 31  
Jeffrey Campbell  FAO Italy
Jeffrey.Campbell@fao.org
   
Margherita Capriola  Stockholm University Sweden margherita.capriola@gmail.com Climate Crimes: climate change and deforestation G 32  
Maria Carnovale Duke University USA maria.carnovale@duke.edu  Governance Chains for Forest Conservation: can states plus big firms equal equity and efficiency? D 17  
Pietro Carpena  TREE AID United Kingdom pietro.carpena@treeaid.org Supporting the development of locally controlled small-scale enterprises based on non-timber forest products in Burkina Faso: TREE AID’s experience D 18  
Paolo Ceci  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew Italy
paul.ceci@libero.it
Restoration of dryland systems in the Sahel region: Kew’s Great Green Wall cross-border pilot project G 30  
Paolo Cerutti  CIFOR Kenya p.cerutti@cgiar.org Between the hammer and the anvil: socio-economic and environmental trade-offs for individual and small forest enterprises in Zambia D 18